Band logo

The Marion High School Patriot Pride Band had six members of the class of 2021 accept college scholarships during its annual Springs Concert and Awards Celebration. These outstanding students will continue their band careers at the collegiate level next fall.

"We are all very proud of their musical accomplishments," said Director of Bands Monty Hill. "This is a culmination of seven years of hard work and dedication in the Marion Band Program.”

Similar to athletic scholarships, band members garner attention from college band directors by earning All-Region and All-State awards and auditioning with potential collegiate directors as well. 

Band members also require a recommendation from Mr. Hill in the process.

"This year I tried something new," Hill added. "We created highlight recordings of each student and sent them to schools of their choice."  

Band Members earning scholarships include:

  • Kaiya Tucker, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
  • Tyeshia Hurd, University of Memphis
  • Avigail Mendez, University of Memphis
  • Tierra Ford, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Miteria Dorsey, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
  • Matthew Adkins, Arkansas State University